Choosing the wrong GaN charger by headline wattage can leave a laptop short of power when a second device connects. A GaN charger uses gallium nitride in its power-switching circuitry; compared with traditional silicon designs, it can enable a smaller, more efficient power converter, while the exact charger still determines charging compatibility and simultaneous output.

For wholesale buying, compare GaN and silicon chargers against the same device bundle, regional plug and evidence requirements. GaN describes a semiconductor technology. Anker GaNPrime describes a product technology family, and USB Power Delivery or PPS describes charging capabilities that need model-specific verification. Use the comparison below to decide whether compactness earns its place in your assortment, then check the port schedule and the documentation for the offered regional SKU.

Input or itemTypical value or sourceWhy it matters
Device demandDevice maker’s charging specification and intended workloadSets the required voltage/current profile and power
Simultaneous useNamed devices and the exact ports occupiedA total rating does not specify every port combination
Size and plugSupplier dimensions and regional unit-label photosCompact body, socket fit and destination plug are separate checks
Market evidenceModel-matched safety, FCC and EU documents as applicableA GaN label establishes none of these

What changes when a charger uses GaN instead of silicon?#

GaN can reduce switching losses and support higher switching frequencies, allowing designers to use smaller magnetic components. That creates an opportunity for higher power density, meaning more output power for a given enclosure volume. The transformer, cooling design, protection circuits and USB controller still affect the finished charger.

Texas Instruments’ GaN technology explanation supports this design mechanism. Its component and reference-design benefits do not establish a universal size reduction, efficiency or case temperature for every retail adapter. Compare finished-product dimensions and efficiency under the same output load and input voltage.

Buying conditionGaN routeSilicon routeDominant Failure Mode & Prevention
Compact laptop or travel bundleShortlist when documented size and required output fit the bundleKeep as an option if it meets the same space and output requirementsCharger blocks adjacent sockets: check body dimensions, plug orientation and the actual socket layout
One device with modest demandJudge any premium against useful space or efficiency gainsA documented compatible option can remain sufficientBuying extra watts without the right protocol: match the device’s required voltage/current profile
Several devices togetherCheck the exact multiport schedule, including port-pair exceptionsApply the same concurrent-output checkLaptop charging drops after connection: verify every intended port combination on a sample
Regional retail stockRequire the exact plug, model label and supporting documentsRequire the same evidenceWrong version or unmatched paperwork: reconcile quotation, unit and documents before acceptance

A useful selection rule: if a documented silicon option meets your required output profiles and measured space allowance, the material name alone is no reason to replace it. Prioritize GaN when the offered model solves an actual size or power-density requirement and passes the remaining checks. Neither technology label proves that a charger is cool to touch or that a phone will charge faster.

USB-C ports above a USB-A port on an Anker charger; connector shape is one part of the buying check.

Identify the connector layout, then read the unit’s model label and matching output schedule. This hardware view does not identify the offered SKU or establish its port ratings.

How should buyers read Anker GaNPrime power allocation?#

Read the exact model’s output table before choosing a device bundle. Anker describes PowerIQ 4.0 on A2148 as detecting connected-device demand and adjusting power allocation. That behavior operates within the model’s limits; it does not give every connected port the full box rating.

The Anker A2148 support specification lists the following maxima for the Anker 737 Charger, GaNPrime 120W:

A2148 connectionPublished maximumBuying implication
USB-C1 or USB-C2 alone100 W; up to 20 V × 5 AA 120 W total rating is not a 120 W single-port rating
USB-A alone22.5 WCheck the device’s supported protocol as well as watts
C1 + C2, or C1 + USB-A120 W combinedRequest the usable allocation for the intended devices
C2 + USB-A, leaving C1 unused24 W combinedThis port pair cannot deliver a laptop-plus-phone budget above 24 W
C1 + C2 + USB-A120 W combinedThe sum does not specify a guaranteed output on each port

These are manufacturer specification baselines for A2148, not a specification for every GaNPrime charger. Check the proposed regional model and current manual. Anker’s A2148 feature description explains Dynamic Power Distribution; it does not replace the connection table.

Rule of thumb: if the required combined output exceeds 24 W, exclude A2148 from C2-plus-USB-A-only use. Check a connection using C1 against the documented allocation, or select another verified model. Start with a necessary power-budget check:

Required simultaneous output (W) = sum of the required device outputs (W).

Hypothetical worked example: 65 W laptop + 30 W phone = 95 W required. An assumed 90 W combined source falls short by 95 − 90 = 5 W. A source above 95 W still needs the right per-port profiles and allocation; the sum alone cannot prove compatibility. Do not subtract phone watts from a charger’s headline total and treat the remainder as guaranteed laptop output.

Hypothetical 65 W laptop and 30 W phone require 95 W together, exceeding an assumed 90 W shared source by 5 W.

Assumed demand shows when a shared budget is insufficient. Passing this addition check is only the first screen; verify the port allocation and protocol next.

For cable pairing, record the required power rating, length and connectors on a separate order line. The USB-IF cable program distinguishes cable power capability and e-marker testing. A USB-C shape does not establish every cable’s power or data capability. Use our USB-C cable selection page and power, data and video cable guide to keep these requirements separate.

How much energy or ownership cost could a different design save?#

Calculate energy from comparable efficiency data, at the same useful output and duty cycle. A GaN label does not supply those inputs. For an IT fleet, electricity may matter; for a reseller, wrong-version returns, cable omissions and document rework can be more relevant to the purchase decision.

Conversion loss (W) = useful output (W) × (1 ÷ efficiency − 1).

Hypothetical equal-output example: at 60 W output, an assumed 90% efficient converter loses 60 × (1 ÷ 0.90 − 1) = 6.67 W; at an assumed 94%, it loses 60 × (1 ÷ 0.94 − 1) = 3.83 W. The difference is 2.84 W. These efficiencies are example inputs, not Anker model specifications or a GaN-versus-silicon measurement.

At the same hypothetical 60 W useful output, 90 percent efficiency implies 6.67 W conversion loss and 94 percent implies 3.83 W.

Hold useful output constant when comparing conversion losses. The diagram shows energy accounting, not a surface-temperature prediction.

Annual energy difference (kWh/unit) = loss difference (W) × hours/day × days/year ÷ 1,000.

With assumed use of 8 hours/day for 250 days/year, the unrounded loss difference gives (6.6667 − 3.8298) × 8 × 250 ÷ 1,000 = 5.67 kWh per unit per year. Multiply by your electricity tariff and installed unit count. Real charging demand varies, so use measured or manufacturer-documented efficiency across your actual loads; include standby energy separately.

Compare ownership costs over the same order quantity, delivery scope and evaluation period:

Cost inputWhat to enterAvoid double counting
Product and accessoriesCurrent written quote for exact charger, plug and separately listed cablesDo not add a cable cost again if the quoted box includes it
Delivery and document handlingPackaging, handoff, onward freight and destination checks actually requiredUse the same logistics responsibility for both options
Electricity for deployed equipmentLoad-based energy, operating hours, standby and tariffDo not charge an entire fleet’s use to one charger
Returns and supportYour recorded replacement, handling and support costs for comparable deploymentsSeparate product replacement from support time; do not invent a defect rate

Same-period TCO = product and accessory cost + delivery and document costs + operating energy cost + recorded return/support costs. If efficiency data are unavailable, leave energy savings unquantified and compare the costs you can substantiate.

What should UL, FCC and CE evidence actually establish?#

Verify each claim against the exact regional model. UL certification, FCC compliance and CE marking answer different questions; a generic logo sheet cannot clear a wholesale lot for every market.

Evidence areaWhat to request and checkWhat it does not establish
Electrical safety / UL claimExact-model safety documentation, applicable standard and edition; if UL certification is claimed, match the mark identifier/file and certification recordA semiconductor’s rating or a different model’s certificate cannot establish finished-charger certification
US FCC evidenceAsk which authorization procedure applies; where SDoC applies, retain model identification, compliance statement and US responsible-party contact informationFCC SDoC does not establish matters outside the FCC rules, or replace electrical-safety evidence
EU CE markingModel-matched signed EU Declaration of Conformity, applicable legislation/standards and supporting technical evidence; reconcile the unit and plug versionA generic “CE certificate” or CE logo alone does not establish the correct conformity assessment
Lot and regional identityQuote line, unit label, plug and packaging photos, with document references tied to the supplied versionA genuine product photo does not prove the identity or paperwork of the delivered lot

The IEC 62368-1:2023 public abstract, corrected August 2025, describes a safety standard based on energy-source classification and safeguards. That scope is useful when reviewing a claimed test report. Ask a qualified compliance reviewer to confirm the relevant local adoption, edition and product coverage; the abstract supplies neither a charger-specific pass nor usable test limits.

UL’s mark guidance explains how an identifier or file number connects to Product iQ records. For FCC SDoC, 47 CFR § 2.1077 specifies compliance information, including the US responsible party, while § 2.1072 limits what SDoC signifies. Check applicability rather than demanding an FCC ID for every adapter.

The EU’s CE marking guidance places responsibility on the manufacturer and calls for the applicable conformity assessment, technical evidence and a signed declaration. There is no central EU body that issues permission to use CE. This matrix helps organize evidence; destination obligations still require a review for the exact product and sales channel.

What should you send for a wholesale quote?#

Send the actual device bundle and version requirements, then keep any unconfirmed fields visible in the written quotation. Start with the Anker GaNPrime range; use the existing charger wholesale checklist for the complete quote workflow.

ItemWhy we need itExample format
Exact charger and plugDefines the requested purchasing lineModel code; US/EU/UK plug; color; acceptable substitutes
Devices and concurrent outputMakes port allocation checkableLaptop model and required profile; phone model; ports occupied together
Cable and box contentsPrevents an incomplete bundleUSB-C to USB-C; required power rating; length; included or separate
Market and evidence requestIdentifies regional and documentation questionsDestination country; packaging language; safety/FCC/DoC references required
Quantity and handoffSets the commercial scopeQuantity per SKU; mainland China or Hong Kong handoff; onward transport owner

Request a wholesale quote under the published pricing and RFQ terms with those inputs. The reply can address current availability, lead time, commercial terms and open questions. Confirm supporting-document availability in writing; a quote request does not itself certify a product or approve a market entry.

Method, sources and review date#

Updated October 19, 2026. This guide uses TI’s GaN mechanism explanation, Anker’s A2148 support specification and PowerIQ feature description, the IEC public abstract, UL mark guidance, USB-IF cable guidance, EU CE guidance last checked July 17, 2026, and eCFR rules available through the October 15, 2026 title issue. Links appear beside the relevant claims. The calculations use explicitly assumed inputs and equal useful output; obtain model-specific measurements before assigning an energy saving. No certification, efficiency, stock or price is inferred for an offered lot.